Reviews For Beginning's End
Reviewer: nephtys59 Signed Date: February 13, 2010 - 05:01 pm Title: Chapter 4

Well, I found this story only now, almost 4 years after it has been written. "Before I Sleep" is my favourite episode of Atlantis, that's one of the reasons I like it so much. Best fic I've ever read, my kudos to the authour for writing it. Wonderful story!

Reviewer: esotericgal Signed Date: August 28, 2009 - 02:29 am Title: Chapter 4

"Thank you" is not enough for this amazingly written story - heavily laden with human emotions, complexities risen from dire circumstances, the thick tensions created..... I can go on but I think it has already been best summed up by the much deserved award bestowed to you.

I do agree with the other reviewer, I do love Dr. Frasier but Doc Carson is part of SGA . I understand that the timeline has been changed so having Frasier instead of Carson adds credibility to its change. Please don't feel I have any less respect to your wonderful fiction. I thought you are a worthy writer to share my biased view of Carson and the SGA team.

Any chance to lure you out of retirement? =)

Author's Response: Aw, you're very kind. And, yes, I actually agree about Carson. I loved him dearly, far more than Frasier, but it was a artistic decision used to emphasis the differences between realities. I completely understand your point! And while I will always continue to write S/W, and may pick up my pen and write a random fic here and there, I think my retirement is pretty much permanent. Thanks again for the lovely words!

Author's Response: Aw, you're very kind. And, yes, I actually agree about Carson. I loved him dearly, far more than Frasier, but it was a artistic decision used to emphasis the differences between realities. I completely understand your point! And while I will always continue to LOVE S/W, and may pick up my pen and write a random fic here and there, I think my retirement is pretty much permanent. Thanks again for the lovely words!

Reviewer: shipper scifi Signed Date: August 13, 2009 - 07:09 pm Title: Chapter 1

I must've read this story a dozen times at least. Very, very good. No drivel, nice plot. Loved it.

Reviewer: Marcus S Lazarus Signed Date: February 08, 2009 - 12:23 am Title: Chapter 4

Nice idea, I have to admit; if nothing else, you definitely put a GREAT deal of thought into what life might have been like in Atlantis back when the Ancients ran things.

John and Elizabeth’s various interactions with the Ancients were very well-written, clearly demonstrating the mixture of comradeship and conflict between them and their new allies, due to the Ancients’ willingness to work with them- up to a point, obviously; sending them to the future remained something they wouldn’t do- while some of them initially treat John and Elizabeth like little more than a few lucky Neanderthals that got lucky before they’ve ‘proven’ themselves.

On that topic, it was really rather interesting to see how having TWO people back in the past affected the Ancients here; in the original timeline, Elizabeth on her own didn’t seem to do much- most likely because, as she was alone, she felt less comfortable taking ‘risks’ and leaving no hope for saving her expedition, whereas here she has John to serve as a second voice to encourage her to do more-, but here they not only (Albeit unintentionally) cause the death of more than a couple of Ancients,but leave the survivors with a not-insignificant amount to think about (To say nothing of having the chance to meet such Ancient ‘classics’ as them travelling on the “Aurora” in its prime and John suggesting ‘puddle jumpers’ as a name for the Gateships to the ANCIENTS)...

Interesting touch with Moros actually presenting a decent argument for NOT travelling in time, by the way; if it wasn’t for the fact that John and Elizabeth’s trip could have easily been kept secret from the other Ancients- since they were only going to the FUTURE to try and change things, nobody in the present would be aware of what they’d done-, I might have agreed with him, but as it is they would have, and so I did not (Probably for the best you had Janus’s plans destroyed with that factor in mind, really; the debates that Moros and Elizabeth might have entered into as a result if the plans had survived would have been interesting, but they might have just become tedious fairly quickly).

Admittedly I would have preferred if you’d kept Carson around rather than having him be replaced by Janet in the ‘new’ timeline- and a part of me can’t help but wish you’d left the whole ‘different timeline’ thing alone; at least the original version of “Before I Sleep” suggested that Elizabeth had actually changed the history of HER universe, rather than just creating a new one (Besides, if the Ancients refused to time travel themselves how could they be sure that the ‘alternate timeline’ thing would actually be the case?)-, but that aside, a very intriguing and moving storyline.

And as for the end...

When one John Sheppard and Elizabeth Weir came together as another pair finally ended their long journey through time and space to save Atlantis...

BEAUTIFUL, to say the least.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much for this lovely and long review. It's ones like this that are prizes and gems for writers. ;) First, I'm glad you liked the Ancients and their development/interaction with Elizabeth and John. There was one of the most fun things I did with the fic, along with the world building. Since I didn't have Rodney, Teyla, Ronon or any of the other regular SGA cast to work with, I was forced to either go with Original Characters or the various Ancients scattered throughout the series. It was quite a challenge! Regarding Carson, I could totally understand you sadness to see him gone. Alas, this fic was written before "Sunday," and I surely wouldn't have removed him if it had been written after. I love Carson, always have, and the absence of his character was in no way meant to mean I didn't like him. I just needed to drive home the notion that this verse was not in fact the same original verse that John and Elizabeth were from. Considering the number of things they changed in the past, I didn't see how it would be at all plausible for them to end up in the same exact verse. One thing we've learned from SG-1 is that there is consequences to time-traveling. SG-1 has made many episodes regarding the use of it, all little ARs parallel to the "canon verse" of SG-1. I wanted to play as honest to the verse and it's principals as possible, hence all the differences. ;) Thanks again for the lovely review!

Reviewer: ele_belly Signed Date: August 16, 2008 - 06:53 pm Title: Chapter 4

All I can say is... wow. This is a brilliant story!! I got so engrossed in it that Ive read it twice already! You are great at writing stories =] This was written really well. It had good structure and was easy to get hooked on. Well done! =D

Reviewer: Oparu Signed Date: October 09, 2006 - 03:34 pm Title: Chapter 4

Such a beautiful, complicated story. You paint an amazingly detailed picture of life on Atlantis in the past, while weaving a compelling love story. The detail and the characters are lovingly protrayed with wit and gentleness. It's truly a work of art. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks! Those are some pretty complimentary words. :D

Reviewer: Terry Signed Date: October 04, 2006 - 10:38 pm Title: Chapter 4

Babe, still awesome the second time through!

Author's Response: You read it a second time? Wow. *G* Admit it, you've been bitten by the Sparky bug Terry. You can deny it all you want, but no non-Sparky fan would sit through a fic this long twice! :P

Reviewer: shell33 Signed Date: October 04, 2006 - 03:51 pm Title: Chapter 4

WOW!! I loved this! Thangs

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: shell33 Signed Date: October 04, 2006 - 03:51 pm Title: Chapter 4

WOW!! I loved this! Thangs

Reviewer: Galxychld Signed Date: September 30, 2006 - 07:32 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh, wow, what a beautiful chapter! I loved how you threw little changes in there to prove that they did alter the fabric of time. And I absolutely loved the relationship between the older John and Elizabeth and the developing one between the younger versions. I'm sad that the story has to end, but thanks so much for writing it! I loved every minute I spent reading it. Thank you.

Author's Response: I loved every one of your reviews too! Thanks for leaving them. They were good motivators!

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: September 30, 2006 - 03:28 am Title: Chapter 4

p.s: Ah! There was so much more I wanted to say, but I was so in awe it was hard for me to find my words.

I loved your final line to the fic, it was so true.

Again, thank you so much.

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: September 30, 2006 - 03:26 am Title: Chapter 4

*sobs* God, this is so beautiful. I can hardly believe that it's actually over. I've loved it since the beginning.

I absolutely love that song, and I think it does fit perfectly. You did an extraordinary job.

You are an exceptional writer, you really have true talent. I really hope to see more from you in the future. Thank you so much for sharing this story, it will always be one of my favorites. This is a one of a kind story.

Author's Response: *Blushes bright red* Wow. Thank you for the lovely reviews. They meant a lot!

Reviewer: Magnavox Signed Date: September 29, 2006 - 10:41 pm Title: Chapter 4

Wow! That was quite possibly the best sparky story ever! The ending was perfect, sad yet beautiful, like a salty tear drop falling from a rose petal to join the neverending sea. lol. That's some serious talent you have there!

Author's Response: Salty teardrop, eh? LOL. Glad you liked!

Reviewer: Major Dork Signed Date: September 29, 2006 - 09:43 pm Title: Chapter 4

Wow... that was seriously awesome. This is literally my absolute favorite story! Thank you Lifehouse!!!! Missed Carson Beckett, but it was cool to have Janet and Ford back at the end! Great ending to a awesome story!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Heh. Yes, everyone should love Lifehouse! And if it makes you feel better, in my head, Carson Beckett lived a very happy and fulfilling life on Earth. Thanks for the lovely words!

Reviewer: Galxychld Signed Date: September 29, 2006 - 08:30 am Title: Chapter 3

Will you be posting the newest chapters here soon? Preferably with some of the stuff that Fanfiction.net doesn't like you to post? :)

Author's Response: Done!

Reviewer: Major Dork Signed Date: September 07, 2006 - 12:04 am Title: Chapter 3

You are seriously amazing, I think the best writer I've seen so far! I can't wait to see more! Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Wow. *blushes* thank you.

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: September 06, 2006 - 11:52 pm Title: Chapter 3

Yes! A new chapter...well, a new section, actually. So happy!

*stares in shock* Wow, now that was a twist. I seriously had no idea the Amish and Alana were bad. And the Amish was alive!

*whistles* very...hot John and Elizabeth moment! They needed it!

Amazing job!!! This is so great, I can't wait for the next part! *Squee*

Author's Response: heh. Thanks! See you made your way here from FF.NET. Glad you liked this part! And your enthusiam is well appreciated!!

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: September 06, 2006 - 11:52 pm Title: Chapter 3

Yes! A new chapter...well, a new section, actually. So happy!

*stares in shock* Wow, now that was a twist. I seriously had no idea the Amish and Alana were bad. And the Amish was alive!

*whistles* very...hot John and Elizabeth moment! They needed it!

Amazing job!!! This is so great, I can't wait for the next part! *Squee*

Reviewer: Trialia Signed Date: September 06, 2006 - 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 3

Oh, hon, just noticed-- Elizabeth's hair is dark brown, not black, and "languishingly" isn't a word; should probably be "languidly". Again, this rocks!

Author's Response: I love you, have I told you that lately? I'll fix it when I get time.

Reviewer: Bridget Signed Date: August 23, 2006 - 12:48 am Title: Chapter 2

oh no! not janus! update soon, really like this story!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Trialia Signed Date: August 21, 2006 - 08:10 pm Title: Chapter 2

w00t...

btw, it's "no holds barred" rather than "no hold's bar"... see, the anal beta-reader surfaces. :D

Author's Response: Never change!

Reviewer: Trialia Signed Date: August 14, 2006 - 09:47 am Title: Chapter 1

Sweetie, having been reading the fic at LJ, I know you're not finished yet, remember? But yeah... now I know why my words won't come to me. ;) You've run off with the dictionary again! :P I have been enjoying the fic, though.

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: August 14, 2006 - 01:20 am Title: Chapter 1

Hey, it didn't let me finish my review! What's that?!

Anyway, here's the rest.

I've fallen head over heels for this story. Funny, I know, but I absolutely love everything about it.
I can't wait till you update. Please make it soon!


Author's Response: *Blushes* Thank you so much. And yes, I'll be updating very very soon!

Reviewer: Keegan Signed Date: August 14, 2006 - 01:18 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow. I'm awestruck. This is so well written, I don't know how you did it. Seriously, it's amazing. Actually, words can't even begin to describe how well written this is.
And the story,

Reviewer: Trialia Signed Date: August 13, 2006 - 11:10 pm Title: Chapter 1

Now I'm finally seeing your word count, I know why I have persistent writer's block lately.. you're using all the words LOL

Author's Response: This is only half the story so far published! I'm actually only one-third done at this point! *headdesk*

Author's Response: 1/2 published refers to the amount of fic I've already finished. and by one-third done, I mean the length the fic will be once I'm finished entirely. Just thought I'd clarify, so people wouldn't go "?". *g*

You must login (register) to review.
Stargate Atlantis and all characters are © Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc., the Sci Fi Channel, and Acme Shark. No infringement is intended. All hosted works are © their respective owners and may not be used or reproduced without the owners' permission.