Reviews For Connections
Reviewer: Marcus S Lazarus Signed Date: April 25, 2009 - 10:14 am Title: Chapter 19

Nice bit of work, to say the least.

You clearly put a great deal of thought into thinking about what all the characters who went back to Earth would get up to during their return home, ranging from thinking about the meetings Elizabeth would have to deal with- both political and personal (Simon, naturally)- to coming up with reasons for John’s absence during the meeting that led to his promotion.

If nothing else, his friendship with Sam was an interesting new touch; might have been rendered AU after Season Four featured no reference, but so far it’s been working out fairly well.

And as for the depth of thought you’ve put into exploring their thoughts about their relationships, with neither wanting to fully acknowledge their feelings even as they can’t help but be aware of their existence…

BRILLIANT work, to say the least; I can DEFINITELY see how their trains of thought on that topic progress.

Plus, of course, I greatly enjoyed the Sam/Daniel elements; after John/Elizabeth, those two have always been my favourite “Stargate” pairing, so I greatly enjoyed the chance for each of them to show their feelings (Even if it’s never explicitly romantic, you recognise their close friendship; that’s the important thing for me, really).

Hope you’re planning to continue; this story is looking VERY interesting!

(Just one last request; if I credited you with the original inspiration, could I use a couple of minor plot details from this story- such as- in my story “The Phantom of Atlantis” to account for some of the expedition’s time on Earth after the Siege?)

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving such a details review. I love it when I recieve reviews that have something to them. Also, it's great to hear another Sam/Daniel shipper is reading this story. We're a rare breed, us Sam and Daniel people, apparently. I am planning on continuing. I actually posted a chapter on ff.net and was supposed to post a more MATURE version over here but my computer crashed and I've been trying to recreate that.

Reviewer: solemn_eyed Signed Date: July 02, 2008 - 05:47 pm Title: Chapter 18

I'm not reading it... yet. I'm waiting for you to finish, 'cause I never read WIPs. But then I will read it in one go! ;)

Author's Response: I totally get not reading a story until it's finished. However, this one is turning into quite the epic... so it might be a while before I'm done.rnrnManic Penguin

Reviewer: physics_geek Anonymous Date: June 28, 2008 - 12:44 pm Title: Chapter 18

I'm still reading and loving it. its a great story. i love being in john's head. cant wait for more john/elizabeth stuff.

Author's Response: Getting into John's head is a bit of a challenge, but, strangely enough, getting into Elizabeth's is proving to be even more difficult, for reasons I have yet to understand. The next chapter, when I get around to finishing it (I've been working on it for months, before I posted or even really started on the last two or three chapters) will definitely be heavy on the John/Elizabeth stuff. Thanks for taking the time to read and review.rnrnManic Penguin

Reviewer: sg1gater86 Signed Date: March 23, 2008 - 04:49 pm Title: Chapter 16

This story is great. Please I must have more. So PLEASE keep it coming!

Author's Response: Chapter 17 is almost finished, I just have to wait for my ex to get back to me on flight protocols and things like that for John's part of the story. Thanks for reviewing. It's great to know that people are actually reading this, let alone enjoying it. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Hannah554 Signed Date: December 07, 2007 - 05:38 pm Title: Chapter 14

Another great chapter, I feel for Teyla, that science and time delays part had me confused as well lol. Loved the phone call between John and Liz and him making her hang up when she was driving. Can't wait for the next part.

Author's Response: The science is probably complete BS; I passed Earth Science with a B average and Bio with a low C+, but never attempted anything beyond the basics in any other hard science. I just needed a reason for Teyla and Zelenka to dial in early since I felt like everything was getting a little disconnected from Atlantis. The John and Elizabeth hang-up thing was a fun piece to write. Usually she's the one openly worrying about him; I liked giving John a rhyme and reason to worry about Elizabeth and, beyond that, for him to let her know that he was worrying about her. Thanks for reviewing. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Suzotchka Signed Date: November 15, 2007 - 12:41 am Title: Chapter 13

I'm still reading! Still loving it!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and taking the time to let me know that you like what I've done so far. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: jenjulia Signed Date: November 14, 2007 - 10:22 pm Title: Chapter 13

Hey, I'm still reading too! Love this story and I'm really looking forward to wherever you're going with it!

Author's Response: Thanks! Manic Penguin

Reviewer: physics_geek Anonymous Date: November 14, 2007 - 05:48 am Title: Chapter 13

i'm still reading... i even signed up just to tell you how much i love this story! especially elizabeth's dreams of john, very cute. keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I haven't heard much on the last few chapters but the fact that you signed up just to let me know you're reading and enjoying... totally made my day. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Hannah554 Signed Date: November 13, 2007 - 11:28 pm Title: Chapter 13

Loved this chapter, especially John's thoughts. Good Job!

Author's Response: John's thoughts were, actually, sorta cribbed from something an old boyfriend said to me about being on a base. His callsign was as unimaginative as John's is on the show--his name was Papponski and everyone called him 'Pappy'--and it drove him absolutely nuts.

Reviewer: aylixx Signed Date: July 03, 2007 - 02:45 pm Title: Chapter 9

happy birthday! :-) you made yourself a great birthday gift, I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: I'm glad this chapter was well recieved. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Browncoat Gater Signed Date: July 03, 2007 - 03:30 am Title: Chapter 9

Another great Chapter. i am really getting into this story. Oh and Happy Birthday.

Author's Response: Thank you, both for the review and the birthday wish. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Heimedall Signed Date: June 29, 2007 - 09:55 pm Title: Chapter 8

I have bookmarked this story, its somewhere in my mass of must reads :) but I'm sure its great :)

Author's Response: Thanks. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: sylvie Signed Date: June 27, 2007 - 07:45 am Title: Chapter 8

It's so much fun to read this story. Good work!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying it! Thank you. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: sylvie Signed Date: June 24, 2007 - 08:57 am Title: Chapter 8

lot of fun to read this story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Suzotchka Signed Date: June 22, 2007 - 01:15 am Title: Chapter 7

I'm really enjoying this story! Looking forward to more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know that you're enjoying this story. I love hearing (or, rather, reading) that people are taking the time to read what I've worked on. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: sylvie Signed Date: June 11, 2007 - 08:12 pm Title: Chapter 5

I like this story so far. Please continue.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time both read and respond to my work. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: HopelesslyEscaflowne Signed Date: June 02, 2007 - 05:21 am Title: Chapter 5

LOL, 'It's a freaking plunger', that last line was hilarious. McKay and Carter simply do not mix. That's why I'm a little worried about the 4th season, not to mention something has to happen to Weir for her to not be leading the expedition. Anyways, back to the story, you have their relationship hands down and it was nice to see Sam and Liz call a sorta truce for now. This was some nice filler and I look forward to the next chapter. ^^

Author's Response: I love writing Sam and McKay in scenes together because neither one of them holds back with what they want to say. I love how half the time McKay is head-over-heels in love with her and the other half he's doing his level best to undermine her authority and intelligence. Manic Penguin PS: I'm worried about Season 4, too.

Reviewer: HopelesslyEscaflowne Signed Date: June 02, 2007 - 05:02 am Title: Chapter 3

Oops, forgot to review this chapter! =P lol I liked this chapter because you whowed the relationsip between Liz and Teyla. Both are strong, professional women who have strong beliefs and make tough decisions. It was good to see them find a friend in one another as I'm sure they do in the show. Seems John has a raw spot when it comes to what happened to Ford. I wonder how that'll play out in the future. Good work so far!

Author's Response: I needed to have the bond between Teyla and Elizabeth because... well, because they haven't really capitolized on it on the show and I think they should. Both are strong women, and strong leaders to their people, and their characters have a lot in common, yet the show doesn't seem to want them to be good friends. It's mind boggling. I figured that John would have a raw spot for Ford because I always saw their relationship as big-brother-little-brother in a way. John put up with the kid, even found him useful from time to time, but for the most part he ignored him in favor of Rodney, Teyla, and Elizabeth. Ford never really fit in, though, and I think that John would feel guilty for not making more of an effort to rectify that. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: HopelesslyEscaflowne Signed Date: June 02, 2007 - 04:59 am Title: Chapter 4

It's good to see that Liz has a close friend in Daniel. He's such a great guy! ^^ They also have a lot of common interests since Liz is an expert in the Ancient language and Daniel would probably go nuts at the stuff in Atlantis, lol. The relationship between John and Sam was quite the different change from what I'm used to but it works well to show them as close friends too. What happens to Daniel affects Sam more than I realized it would. All the relationships worked really well and I'm curiosu as to what happens next.

Author's Response: I really wanted everyone to have someone on Earth that they connected with completely. When I started this story I knew that Elizabeth and Daniel would be an good friendship to write, and lately I've found that Elizabeth and Jack have an easy friendship that I can't resist getting into. And, because I knew that Elizabeth was going to have Daniel, and Rodney was going to have Sam, to some extent, at least, I needed to give someone to John, which is why I brought Sam in as his long-time friend. Unfortunately I don't plan on making a big thing about Carson, though he does get to visit his mother soon, which should take him out of the story for several chapters, leaving time for more S/W time. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: HopelesslyEscaflowne Signed Date: June 02, 2007 - 04:19 am Title: Chapter 2

Ooo, nice! Liz finally admitted to herself that she's got the hots for Shep! hehe It was nice to see the chat between John and Liz. The general sense of camraderie and closeness in the interaction between all the characters, both major and minor, was wonderful to see. I can't wait to see what happens next. ^^

Author's Response: I had to have Elizabeth admit to herself that she likes John... for a reason I am not at liberty to disclose at this time. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: HopelesslyEscaflowne Signed Date: June 02, 2007 - 01:15 am Title: Chapter 1

Poor Liz, she thinks Shep is going to go after Carter when he returns to Earth. I have to admit that I loved that kitchen scene with the four senior officers. It really added another layer of personality to each of them and it was really nice to see Liz sharing a moment from her past. Then there was the fact that Shep was looking delicious himself already. ;) I loved the description you gave of him. ^^ Looks like the trip to Earth will be full of excitement and vacations for everyone besides Liz! Let's just hope she gets a lil' time to herself as well. ;)

Author's Response: The kitchen scene was really fun to write. For a while I contemplated getting rid of it but... well, it was just so much fun that I had to leave it in. And, yes, the yummy John images were key in my decision to leave the section in--who can resist a good yummy John scene? Don't worry, Elizabeth will definitely get some time to herself... as well as time not so much to herself... but that won't come for a little while. First she has to work, then she can play. Thank you for reviewing Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Angie Signed Date: May 21, 2007 - 01:42 pm Title: Chapter 4

I really like that so far. The idea, the describtion of the characters...great work! :) And I hope there is more to come soon...maybe with a few John/Liz moments? *puupy dog eyes*

Author's Response: I've got a dog and a rabbit and both of them are the biggest sucks of all time. The puppy dog eyes don't work on me. However, since I love writing moments between John and Elizabeth there will be many more to come, especailly once Elizabeth returns from DC. Manic Penguin

Reviewer: Steph7085 Signed Date: May 20, 2007 - 09:38 pm Title: Chapter 1

Good start! Onto the next chappy now *grin*

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to not only read but respond to my work. Manic Penguin

You must login (register) to review.
Stargate Atlantis and all characters are © Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc., the Sci Fi Channel, and Acme Shark. No infringement is intended. All hosted works are © their respective owners and may not be used or reproduced without the owners' permission.